Governing Body

Unity Schools Partnership is a partnership of schools located on the Suffolk, Essex, Cambridgeshire borders. We share the same values, face similar issues and are geographically close enough to support and challenge each other.

Unity Schools Partnership is a charitable company limited by guarantee and registered in England and Wales with company number 07400386.Companies House

The registered office is at Unity Schools Partnership, Park Road, Haverhill, Suffolk, CB9 7YD.

The latest accounts and annual report are available from Companies House

Woodhall Primary Governing Body

Contribution from Mrs Hazel Crane, Chair of Governors:

I am delighted to be able to write this piece for the school website about the role of governors at Woodhall. I have been a governor at Woodhall for over ten years and for half that time I have been the chair. The principle role of governors is threefold.

  • To ensure the clarity of the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school in line with the ethos and values in Unity Schools Partnership.
  • To hold the Headteacher and senior leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and the outcome of its pupils.
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and to make sure money is well spent.

The governing body meet 5 times a year; the agendas vary through the year so that governors can fulfil their key duties in holding the school’s leaders to account, and ensuring the school’s education and finance performance, is as effective as it can be with the strategic direction that has been set. 

Governors also have specific responsibilities in line with the DfE, trust requirements and the school’s priorities. These roles include governors who have responsibility for safeguarding, SEND (Special Needs Education and Disabilities), disadvantaged pupils, maths English, attendance and mental health and wellbeing. Governors are able to attend school regularly both for monitoring and individual governor visits. The Chair of Governors meets on a regular basis with the headteacher to discuss the general running of the school.

If you would like to find out more about becoming a governor, please contact me, Mrs Hazel Crane either via the school office, or by emailing

The school’s current governing body comprises:

  • Mrs Hazel Crane - Chair
  • Mrs Clare Cameron - Vice Chair/Parent Governor
  • Mrs Lisa Tweed - Headteacher
  • Miss Katie Bojcun - Staff Governor
  • Mrs Jane Sendall - Co-opted from Trust
  • Mrs Sally Ruggier - Co-opted